School District names 5 finalists for 2011 Teacher of the Year

INDIAN RIVER COUNTY — The Indian River County School District has released its five finalists for the district’s Teacher of the Year Award. The teachers come from schools in Vero Beach, Sebastian, Fellsmere, and the unincorporated county.

The five finalists will be honored at a Finalist Luncheon on Thursday Feb. 4 at Sebastian River High School Sharky’s Café.  On March 3, all 2011 Teachers of the Year will be invited to a special dinner in their honor at Pointe West, where the 2011 District Teacher of the Year will be announced.

The finalists are:

Marcela Blelloch – Fellsmere Elementary, grade 4

Cheryl Conley – Osceola Magnet, grade 4

Cynthia Emerson –  Storm Grove Middle, grades 7-8, Social Studies

Michael Hall – Sebastian River High School, grades 10-12, Social Studies

Karen Whelan – Vero Beach Elementary, grade 1

The Teacher of the Year program is sponsored annually by the Florida Department of Education and Macy’s. The School District of Indian River County Teacher of the Year 2011 Program is sponsored by Space Coast Credit Union. Supporting Sponsors are Proctor Construction, Summit Construction, and Donadio & Associates, Architects, PA.

Related Articles

Comments are closed.