Indian River Boy Scouts celebrate 100 years at awards night

INDIAN RIVER COUNTY — For 100 years, the Boy Scouts of America has taught young boys to grow into future leaders. Over the course of the last century, the organization’s mission hasn’t changed, but its methods have.

Today’s Scout leaders must be equipped to handle new technology and other modern pitfalls. On Monday night, the 100th birthday of the Boy Scouts of America, those Scout leaders received awards and recognition for their service.




In all, 10 awards were handed out for Cubmaster, Webelos Leader, Cub Scout Leader, Boy Scout Leader (2), and Scoutmaster of the Year, along with three Keepers of the Flame, and the District Award of Merit.

The Boy Scouts of America is one of the nation’s largest and most prominent values-based youth development organizations, according to the organization’s Web site.

“For nearly a century, the BSA has helped build the future leaders of this country by combining educational activities and lifelong values with fun,” the Web site states. “The Boy Scouts of America believes – and, through nearly a century of experience, knows – that helping youth is a key to building a more conscientious, responsible, and productive society.”

The Keeper of the Flame awards are given to those who “Keep the Flame of Scouting going in Gulf Stream Council and Indian River District,” according to the organization.

The Keepers of the Flame were some of the most important members of Native American tribes as they were the ones tasked with keeping the embers from the last campfire in tinder as the tribes moved to a new location.

This year’s Keepers of the Flame are:

Suzy Osgood – has served as leader in various levels of Scouting, been on the staff of Indian River Cub Scout Day Camp, trained for various positions, and “has been one of those responsible for the great success that Pack 503 has had over the years.”

Beth Jennings – Commissioner’s Arrowhead Award recipient, Wood Badge Trained and earned Wood Badge Beads, and she holds the Scouters Training Award, the Scouter’s Key and is a member of The Order of the Arrow.

Toby Turner – he is “considered a ‘Legend’ in Indian River County, not only in scouting but in public service also, his three sons are all Eagle Scouts, member of the Bobwhite Patrol, Lieutenant of the Indian River Fire/Rescue Department, and District Award of Merit recipient.

The District Award of Merit is the highest award the district can bestow and is not given out lightly. This year’s winner started as a Den Leader and then Cubmaster. He then organized a new Boy Scout Troop.

David Smith is a member of the Fox Patrol and serves as a Boy Scout Roundtable Commissioner. He is an active member of the Knights of Columbus and is a Eucharistic Minister at St. John of the Cross Catholic Church, which charters Troop 513.

The award winners include:

Cubmaster of the Year: Valaine Robinet of Pack 506, American Legion – fully trained in any position served and always a Roundtable participant;

Webelos Leader of the Year: Kevin Hansen of Pack 525, St. Sebastian’s Catholic Church – fully trained including Wood Badge, as member of Eagle Patrol, earned Wood Badge Beads;

Cub Scout Leader of the Year: Christina Posavec of Pack 567, Our Savior Lutheran Church – started two years ago as Tiger Leader, fully trained and enrolled in Wood Badge, serves Roundtable Staff;

Boy Scout Leader of the Year: Peggy Lyon of Troop 567, Our Savior Lutheran Church – holder of Commissioner’s Arrowhead Award, conducts “First Year Scout Program” and is a city attorney for the City of Vero Beach;

Boy Scout Leader of the Year: Cliff Lahman of Troop 513, St. John of the Cross Catholic Church – member of Fox Patrol, fully trained and earned Wood Badge Beads, serves as Assistant Scoutmaster and on Roundtable Staff;

Scoutmaster of the Year: Eldridge Wynn of Troop 530, Asbury Methodist Church – fully trained, Wood Badge trained and earned Wood Badge Beads, member of Eagle Patrol, and makes a point to have his Junior Leaders take part in Outdoor Skills Training.

{igallery 146}

Related Articles

Leave a Comment