County chamber announces coalition of 15 to support economic sustainability

VERO BEACH — The Indian River County Chamber of Commerce has announced that a coalition of 15 community organizations are in support of a vision for technology, education, and innovation to enhance economic sustainability and quality of life for the residents of Indian River County.

“This cross-section of public and private sector leaders from Indian River County is responsive and dedicated to the mission that the local economy should be diverse and welcoming to existing and emerging businesses” stated C. William Curtis, Jr. Chairman of the Chamber Board of Directors. The agreement expresses the commitment of county governments, educators and private organizations who believe working together to promote Indian River County will bring more resources and support to the table.

“The groups represented in this agreement have taken part in the Chamber’s Community Leaders Summits and support Community Leaders economic development initiatives” stated Curtis. “Initiatives that have come forth from Community Leaders clearly demonstrate a broad based consensus that better paying jobs are important to our residents and our tax base. It will take all of us working together to create a diverse and sustainable employment base” he said.

Championing this agreement supports “A Healthy Indian River County” which was the first initiative identified at the initial Community Leaders Summit.

“At this time it is critical to have the support of a cross-section of organizations who support economic initiatives and who are willing to work in collaboration with one another to provide for jobs and a tax base that will sustain the life of this county” Curtis said.

Signers of the agreement are: County Commission Chairman Wesley Davis; Mayor Sabin Abell, City of Vero Beach; Mayor Richard Gillmor, City of Sebastian; Mayor Susan Adams, City of Fellsmere; Mayor William Kenyon, Town of Indian River Shores; Mayor Richard Dunlop, Town of Orchid; Jeff Susi, President/CEO, Indian River Medical Center; Emily Holliman, CEO, Sebastian Medical Center; Dr. Edwin Massey, President, Indian River State College; Frank Brogan, President, Florida Atlantic University, Superintendent Harry LaCava, School Board of Indian River County; C. William Curtis, Jr., Chairman, Indian River County Chamber of Commerce; Debbie Vickers, Chairman, Sebastian River Area Chamber of Commerce; Catherine McKenzie, President, Workforce Solutions; John Higgs, Chairman, Indian River Neighborhood Association.The Indian River County Chamber of Commerce is a 4-star Accredited Chamber representing the business community by providing services, benefits and leadership for positive economic growth and change.

Related Articles

Comments are closed.