Vero Beach, Sebastian students named National Merit Scholar semifinalists

INDIAN RIVER COUNTY — Nine Vero Beach and Sebastian River High School students have made the semifinals for the National Merit Scholarship.

Vero students who made the list include Amy Askren, Dana D’Haeseleer, Kathleen Grossman, Gabriel Jerkins, Hannah Keiler, Alexa Mertens-Goossen, Ashley Villar, and Aria Yagobi. Natalie Wolff is a semifinalist from Sebastian River High.

The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships which began in 1955. Students enter the competition by taking the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test (PSAT) in their junior year. The PSAT is a national test, which is divided into three sections: critical reading, math, and writing skills.

Of the 1.5 million students who entered the 2010 National Merit Scholarship Program, approximately 15,000 are expected to advance to the Finalist level. Between March and June, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation will notify National Merit Scholarship award winners.

Related Articles

Comments are closed.