Cultural Council Laurel Award Honorees announced

VERO BEACH — The Cultural Council of Indian River County is proud to announce the 2011 Laurel Award Honorees for cultural leadership in Indian River County.  These individuals will be honored at the 16th Annual Laurel Awards celebration on Friday, May 13, from 6 to 8 pm at Riverside Theatre.

A cocktail party from 6 to 7 pm will be followed by a program in the Waxlax Theatre, including a performance by the national award winning orchestra from Vero Beach High School.

Cultural Professional Leadership: Matthew V. Stott, Orchestra Director, Vero Beach High School, nominated by the Vero Beach High School Performing Arts Center.

Recognizes an individual whose outstanding performance and commitment to their organization and the cultural community deserves special recognition

Volunteer Leadership: Al Smith, nominated by McKee Botanical Garden.

Recognizes the selfless dedication of an individual who has devoted energy, passion, time and support to a CAC member organization without compensation.

Artist Leadership: Sharon Morgan, nominated by Paris Productions and artist Quentin Walter.

Recognizes local artists who have earned the respect of the community and their peers for their dedication to their art and to their commitment to making art in Indian River County.

Business/Philanthropy Leadership: Dr. Ben D. Emerson, nominated by Riverside Theatre

Recognizes an individual or business group providing consistent generous financial support of Indian River County’s cultural community.

Invitations will be mailed soon to Cultural Council members and friends.  If you would like to be added to the invitation list, please send an email to

Tickets are $50.

For additional information, call the Cultural Council of Indian River County at (772) 770-4857.

Related Articles

Comments are closed.