Celebrated Speaker Series at the Emerson Center

VERO BEACH — Subscriptions to the 2011 Celebrated Speakers Series at the Emerson Center are now available.  Please note that the first two performances have been swapped due to a scheduling conflict. 

Appearing on Saturday, January 15 is Patrick Jake (P.J.) O’Rourke. Hard-bitten, cigar-smoking conservative O’Rourke is the author of 10 books and has established himself as America’s premier political satirist. He is looked upon as the “funniest writer in America” by both Time and The Wall Street Journal.

He will be followed on Saturday, February 5 by Peggy Noonan, an author and highly regarded political columnist. Ms. Noonan was a former presidential special assistant and vice-presidential chief speechwriter and television producer.

Zbigniew Brzezinski, author and a former national security advisor to the President of the United States, will appear on Saturday, February 26. Brzezinski is Trustee and Counselor, Center for Strategic & International Studies and Professor of American Foreign Policy at John Hopkins University in Washington, D.C.

Gwen Ifill, the moderator and managing editor for Washington Week, follows on Saturday, March 19.  She is also senior correspondent for PBS’ The NewsHour with Jim Lehrer where she interviews newsmakers and reports on issues ranging from foreign affairs to politics.

Paul Krugman, one of the world’s foremost economists and winner of the 2008 Nobel Prize for Economics, concludes the series on Saturday, April 9. Krugman is Professor of Economics at Princeton University and an insightful outspoken Op-Ed columnist for the New York Times.

Sponsored by Wilmington Trust, Celebrated Speakers Series ticket buyers have the option of subscribing to only four of the speakers (the first four or the last four only) for $220.  The cost for all five speakers is $275. Single Tickets are $65 and will be made available for sale on December 1.

For tickets:  Visit www.TheEmersonCenter.org or call the Box Office at 772-778-5249.

Related Articles

Comments are closed.