Early voting underway for 90,000 registered voters

INDIAN RIVER COUNTY – Slightly more than 90,000 registered voters have the opportunity to hit the polls as early voting gets underway.

The primary election will be held Aug. 24, after about two weeks of early votes being cast.

Offices up for election in the primary include two County Commission districts, three School Board districts and a handful of state and national posts.

Those posts include US Senator, for which Marco Rubio, Gov. Charlie Crist, Kendrick Meek, among others, are running; Florida Governor, Attorney General, Chief Financial Officer, and Commissioner of Agriculture, and Florida House of Representatives Districts 29 and 80.

Florida is a closed primary state, meaning that only those registered with a political party can vote for that party’s candidates in the primary.

In Indian River County, that mean about 43,300 registered Republicans and 27,400 Democrats can participate the primary. Another 19,300 voters registered as something else might have to wait for November’s general election – unless their party is represented in the primary.

Those seeking to cast their votes early have from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. every day – except Sunday – between now and Aug. 21. They can go to the Supervisor of Elections Office, the Main Library, or Historic Sebastian City Hall.

Voters should bring identification that contains a photo and a signature (such as a Florida driver’s license). Other acceptable forms of ID can be found on the Elections Office website, www.VoteIndianRiver.com.

Those voters who do not have proper identification will be required to vote via provisional ballot. Voters may request an absentee ballot to be mailed to them by visiting www.VoteIndianRiver.com. The last day for voters to request an absentee ballot be mailed to them is Wednesday, Aug. 18.

Voters who choose to wait until Election Day must go to their assigned polling places, which can be found either on their Voter Information Card, on the Elections Office website by clicking on “Precinct Finder,” or by calling the Elections Office.

Many polling locations within Indian River County have been consolidated in order to conform to budget cuts.

All voters affected by polling place changes have been notified by the Supervisor of Elections.


Where to vote early:

Supervisor of Elections Office, 4375 43rd Ave., Vero Beach

Main Library, 1600 21st Street, Vero Beach

Historic Sebastian City Hall/Old Sebastian Schoolhouse Building, 1235 Main Street, Sebastian

Candidates on the Ballot:

County Commission Dist. 2*


Joe Flescher

Dale Simchick

Charles Wilson

County Commission Dist. 4*


Thomas S. Lowther

Peter D. O’Bryan

 *Will face Democrat, Independent and No Party Affiliation challenges in General Election.


School Board Dist. 1


Guy L. Barber

Karen Disney-Brombach

School Board Dist. 3


Carol Johnson

Richard Marini, Sr.

School Board Dist. 5*


Harry Edward Hall, Jr.

Kimberly Yvette Keithahn

Jeffrey R. Pegler

Ardra Rigby

*Will face Write-In candidate in General Election


US Senate


Glenn A. Burkett

Maurice Ferre

Jeff Greene

Kendrick B. Meek


William Escoffery

William Billy Kogut

Marco Rubio

Marion D. Thorpe Jr.

 No Party Affiliation

Lewis J. Armstrong

Sue Askeland

Bobbie Bean

Charlie Crist

Bruce Ray Riggs

Rick Tyler


Bernie DeCastro, Constitution Party of Florida

Alexander Andrew Snitker, Libertarian Party Of Florida




Joe Allen

Michael E. Arth

Phillip J. Kennedy

Farid A. Khavari

Josue Larose

Darrin E. McGillis

Alex Sink


William D. Crawford

Tim Devine

Paula Dockery

Ed Heeney

Bill McCollum

Berthram B. Samuel

Richard L. Scott

Van A. Driessche

No Party Affiliation

Karl C.C. Behm

Lawton “Bud” Chiles

Herman L. Giger

C. C. Reed

Lesther Trujillo


Anthony “Tony” Knox, Sr,. The Christian Party

Peter L. Allen, The Independence Party Of Florida

John Wayne Smith, Libertarian Party Of Florida


Attorney General


Dave Aronberg

Dan Gelber


Holly Benson

Pam Bondi

Jeff Kottkamp

Jim Lewis


Chief Financial Officer


Loranne Ausley

Joshua Larose

Ken Mazzie


Jeff Atwater

Pat Patterson

No Party Specified

Tom Stearns


Commission of Agriculture


Thaddeus “Thad” Hamilton

Randy Hatch

Scott Charles Maddox

O.R. (Rick) Minton, Jr.


Adam Putnam


James (Jimmy) Harlin Carter (Real Food Party of the United States of America)


Florida House of Representatives, Dist. 29


Eddie Freeman


Robert “Rob” Dale

Tom Goodson

Erin Grall

Roger J. Shealy


Florida House of Representatives, Dist. 80


Art Argenio

Deborah J. Mayfield

Bradley Allan Ward


Polling locations consolidated:

Precincts 104 & 107 will be at Sebastian Elementary School, 400 County Road 512, Sebastian

Precincts 108 & 112 will be at Liberty Magnet School, 6850 81st Street, Vero Beach

Precincts 113, 207 & 311 will be at Gifford Community Center, 4855 43rd Avenue, Vero Beach

Precincts 203 & 204 will be at Sebastian Christian Church, 190 Day Drive, Sebastian

Precincts 302 & 303 will be at Treasure Coast Assembly of God, 3660 16th Street, Vero Beach

Precincts 304, 505 & 507 will be at Trinity Episcopal Great Hall, 2365 Pine Avenue, Vero Beach

Precincts 401 & 501 will be at Vero Beach Highlands POA, 625 Highland Drive SW, Vero Beach

Precincts 402 & 405 will be at Tabernacle Baptist Church, 51 Old Dixie Highway, Vero Beach

Precincts 403 & 404 will be at Vero Christian Church, 3250 Oslo Road, Vero Beach

Precincts 408 & 504 will be at Vero Beach Elementary School, 1770 12th Street, Vero Beach

Precincts 503 & 506 will be at Our Savior Lutheran Church, 1850 6th Avenue, Vero Beach

Precincts 508, 509 & 510 will be at Christ By The Sea UMC, 3755 Highway A1A, Vero Beach

Polling Place Changes

Voters in Precincts 202, 205 & 208 will return to voting at the Environmental Learning Center, 255 Live Oak Drive, Vero Beach

Voters in Precinct 511 will now permanently vote at the River House, 305 Acacia Road, Vero Beach

Related Articles

Leave a Comment