Nine students named National Merit Scholarship finalists

INDIAN RIVER COUNTY — Nine National Merit Scholarship applicants from Indian River County have been named finalists in the competiton.

Selected were Amy Askren, Dana D’Haeseleer, Kathleen Grossman, Gabriel Jerkins, Hannah Keiler, Alexandra Mertens-Goossen, Ashley Villar and Aria Yagobi from Vero Beach High School and Natalie Wolff from Sebastian River High School.

Students are judged for the competition through the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test (PSAT) taken in their junior year. The PSAT is a national test which is divided into three sections: critical reading, math, and writing skills.

Of the 1.5 million students who entered the 2010 National Merit Scholarship Program, approximately 15,000 advance to the finalist level. Winners will be notified between March and June.




Related Articles

Comments are closed.