Barrier island voters only to vote in special elections

INDIAN RIVER COUNTY — A Special Election due to the resignation of State Senator Ken Pruitt, District 28 will be held on Aug. 4 and only voters from the barrier island are eligible to vote as the district covers only the island in the county.

Only voters in the following barrier island precincts are eligible to vote: 202, 205, 209, 508, 509, 510, 511 and 512 in this election.  Photo and signature identification are required to vote.    Anyone without a valid ID can vote a provisional ballot.  The canvassing board will later determine the validity of any provisional ballots. Due to the fire at the Environmental Learning Center, voters in precincts 202 and 205 will vote at Precinct 209, Indian River Shores Community Center, located at 6001 North Highway A1A.  This is a temporary polling place change.

 In addition, voters who voted at Bethel Creek House, Beachland Elementary, and Riverhouse will now vote at Christ by the Sea Methodist Church located at 3755 Highway A1A.  This polling place change is permanent in order to conform to budget cuts.

 For more information about early voting or to view a sample ballot go to

All registered voters are also eligible to vote by mail.  To request a mail ballot, visit or call (772) 226-3440.  The deadline to request that a ballot be mailed to you is 5 p.m. on Wednesday, July 29.  Voters may pick up ballots through Election Day. Mail ballots must be returned to the Supervisor of Elections office by 7 p.m. on Election Day and cannot be accepted at polling places.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment