Votes in for 2020 Primary Election


Polls closed at 7 p.m. Tuesday for the 2020 Primary Election in Indian River County. Votes were tallied at the 35 precincts across the county.

The early votes were completely reported by 8 p.m. Tuesday, while the election day votes were counted by 9 p.m., according to the Supervisor of Elections Office in Indian River County. Votes by mail were completely counted by 10 p.m.

There were 120,443 registered voters in Indian River County. Out of that number, 40,395 cast ballots and the voter turnout was 33.54 percent, officials said.

Here are the unofficial results:


Indian River County Sheriff

Eric Flowers           Vote Count: 14,570              Percent: 62.19%

Chuck Kirby           Vote Count: 1,487                 Percent: 6.35%

Rich Rosell              Vote Count: 1,645                 Percent: 7.02%

Keith Touchberry    Vote Count: 5,727               Percent: 24.44%

Tax Collector

Brenda Bradley       Vote Count: 12,684               Percent: 32.13%

Carole Jean Jordan    Vote Count: 26,790         Percent: 67.87%

Board of County Commissioners District 3

Joseph Earman          Vote Count: 23,183            Percent: 60.15%

Tim Zorc                      Vote Count: 15,357           Percent: 39.85%

Board of County Commissioners District 5

Bob Auwaerter             Vote Count: 11,576           Percent: 30.63%

Stephen Boyle              Vote Count: 9,073            Percent: 24.01%

Laura Moss                   Vote Count: 17,140           Percent: 45.36%

School Board Member District 3

Peggy Jones                   Vote Count: 23,054         Percent: 60.37%

Laura Zorc                      Vote Count: 15,132       Percent: 39.63%

School Board Member District 5

Brian Barefoot               Vote Count: 24,029         Percent: 64.66%

Alla Kramer                    Vote Count: 13,132           Percent: 35.34%

Earlier story: 

Social distancing and cleaning measures are in effect at Indian River County polling sites for the 2020 Primary Election.

Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday. There are 35 different voting sites, or precincts, in Indian River County.

Voters can find their assigned precinct site by visiting the Supervisor of Elections website. There was a nearly 30 percent voter turnout as of 3 p.m., with more than 35,800 ballots counted.

Officials said 5,566 residents casted their votes by 3 p.m. on Tuesday, election day. Authorities said 5,974 citizens participated in early voting, from Aug. 8 through Aug. 15, and 23,962 voted by mail.

There were 17 provisional ballots so far, elections workers said. A provisional ballot is used to record a vote when there are questions about a voter’s eligibility that must be resolved before the vote can count.

There are 121,149 registered voters in Indian River County, according to the Supervisor of Elections website. This includes 33,408 Democrats, 56,603 Republicans, 29,255 under “No Party Affiliation” and 1,883 listed as “other.”

Related Articles

Leave a Comment