County Chamber of Commerce announces 2016 Leadership graduates

INDIAN RIVER COUNTY — The Indian River County Chamber of Commerce held the 10th Leadership Indian River County graduation dinner on July 19, 2016 with 22 individuals completing the 2016 program.

The Chamber began Leadership Indian River County program in 2006 and since have graduated 208 individuals. Former graduates have been inspired to open their own businesses, taken leadership positions in their companies and local non-profit organizations, and have been elected to public office.

Leadership Indian River County is a 7-month long community leadership program offered by Chamber. The program is based on a model that incorporates nourishing and developing community leaders by building community knowledge, developing leadership skills, and gaining an understanding of community stewardship. The program brings focus on variety of social, economic, and geographic issues.

TD Bank sponsored the graduation program. Lonnie Blake, Store Manager of the Vero Beach – Route 60 location of TD Bank, introduced graduation featured speaker Bob Brunjes, President and publisher of the Press Journal and TCPalm.

“Leaders are pioneers. I encourage you to step out into the unknown. Taking risks and believing that taking them is worthwhile. Leaders learn from their failures and errors. If you’re a parent, teacher, coach or community leader, you are the person that’s setting the leadership example for the young people,” Brunjes said.

The 2016 Leadership Indian River County graduates are:

Michael Arnett, School District of Indian River County

Deborah Berg, School District of Indian River County

Monica Bintz, Kilwin’s

Bill Cluck, Piper Aircraft, Inc.

James Cooke, James Cooke Coaching

Diana Dwarika, Harbor Community Bank

Michelle Griffin, National Commerce Bank

Brian Hartman, Harbor Community Bank

Kelly Holm, Indian River County Chamber of Commerce

Todd Howder, MBV Engineering, Inc.

Michele Lee, Childcare Resources of Indian River

Ashleigh Lovell, Dale Sorensen Real Estate

Paul Lytle, EmbroidMe

Lisa Gonzalez, Indian River State College

Patrick McGillicuddy, Seacoast Bank

Margaret Mitchell, Fl. House of Representatives Office of Debbie Mayfield

Josiah Moorhouse, Schlitt Insurance Services

Barbara Pearce, Gifford Youth Achievement Center

Caitlin Puppo, United Way of Indian River County

Sarah Ruwe, American Red Cross

Jacquie Thatcher, Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Vero Beach Downtown

Shelly Thomas, Wells Fargo

The Indian River County Chamber of Commerce will accept applications for the 2017 Leadership Indian River County class now through November 2016. A new class will be named in December. Scholarships are available.

The class begins in January of 2017 and runs through July with one day long session each month. For additional information and an application, contact Emma White, Indian River County Chamber of Commerce (772) 567-3491 or

Comments are closed.