8 students receive National Merit recognition

INDIAN RIVER COUNTY–Eight students from Vero Beach and Sebastian River high schools have received National Merit recognition.

The School District wishes to offer congratulations to the following students:

Vero Beach High – Grace Atherton, Nicole Gagnon, Ryan Jensen, Maria (Gabi) Lapointe, Karen Monuszko, Jesus Moreno, and Grace Thomas.

Sebastian River High – Matthew Colbert.

The National Merit Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships which began in 1955.

Students enter the competition by taking the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test (PSAT) in their junior year. The PSAT is a national test that is divided into three sections: critical reading, math, and writing skills.

Of the 1.5 million students who take the test each year, approximately 50,000 qualify for recognition in the National Merit Scholarship Program. Of those, approximately 34,000 students receive Letters of Commendation in recognition of their outstanding academic promise.

About 16,000 students qualify as Semifinalists. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, Semifinalists must advance to Finalist standing in the competition by meeting high academic standards and other requirements.

Finalists are chosen in February.

Between March and June, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation will notify National Merit Scholarship award winners.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment