Election Day is here in Indian River County

INDIAN RIVER COUNTY – More than 19,000 people have already cast their ballots in the General Election, according to the Supervisor of Elections Office.

The polls open at 7 a.m. today across the county and will close at 7 p.m. Voters in Indian River County will be deciding more than just who will lead their county, school board and individual city or town. They will also weigh in on several state amendments and local referenda.

Those ballot questions include whether the local voters should have the final decision on comprehensive land use changes, if the state should offer class size flexibility, and if – locally – the county should be allowed to offer a property tax freeze to new or expanding businesses that bring in a certain number of jobs.

Those going to the polls today must got to their voting precinct, which is listed on their voter information card or can be found on the Supervisor of Election’s Web site, www.voteindianriver.com under Precinct Finder.

Voters must bring photo/signature identification to the polling place on Election Day.

Voters will be choosing two County Commissioners to represent Districts 2 and 4, currently held by incumbents Joe Flescher and Peter O’Bryan, respectively.

They will also choose from a crop of three candidates to replace out-going School Board District 5 member Debbie MacKay. The choices are Kimberly Keithahn, Jeff Pegler and write-in candidate Althea McKenzie.

The Cities of Vero Beach and Sebastian, along with the Town of Orchid, will be choosing their representatives on the dais.

Vero Beach as three candidates vying for a 1-year term seat, which will fulfill the balance of ousted Councilman Charlie Wilson’s seat currently held by Councilman Ken Daige.

Those candidates are incumbent Sabe Abell, Al Benkert and Tracy Carroll.

There are eight other candidates jockeying for three 2-year term seats and include Daige, Mayor Kevin Sawnick, Craig Fletcher, David Fromang, Richard Kennedy, Jay Kramer, Michael Thomas and Pilar Turner.

In Sebastian, voters will pick from a field of six two council members. Amongst those running are Mayor Richard Gillmor and Vice Mayor Jim Hill, David DeVirgilio, Damien Gilliams, Joe Scozzari and Harvey Wheeler.

In the Town of Orchid, there are five candidates running for three seats. The candidates include incumbents Paul Johnson, Suzanne Joyce, and Francis “Bud” Oatway, and challengers Donna Spackman and Harris Webber.


Before heading to the polls be sure to learn about your candidates and the issues and check out VeroNews.com’s Elections 2010 Section, which has candidate profiles, on-camera interviews, videos from candidate debates, information on the state amendments and the local referenda.

Related Articles

Comments are closed.