Architect becomes 9th to join race for Vero Beach City Council

VERO BEACH — A Vero Beach architect has decided to add his name to the November ballot for the Vero Beach City Council election.

In so doing, Michael Thomas has become the ninth person to run for one of four open seats on the dais. Thomas has been a member of the city’s Architectural Review Committee since the committee was created in 2007.

Thomas joins two incumbents and six other challengers vying for the seats. Three seats on the council are for two-year terms, while the fourth is a one-year seat.

Thomas plans to seek a two-year on the council.

The open seats are currently held by Mayor Kevin Sawnick, Vice Mayor Sabe Abell, Tom White, and Ken Daige.

Both Sawnick and Abell have completed their paperwork to run again. Sawnick is seeking a two-year term while Abell has opted to run for the one-year seat currently filled by Daige.

Daige was appointed to fill ousted Councilman Charlie Wilson’s seat until the municipal election this November.

Daige has not yet filed to run for office again. White has announced he will be taking a break from the council and is not seeking another term this go-round.

Thomas will be running against fellow Vero Beach residents Tracy Carroll, Craig Fletcher, Dean Heran, Richard Kennedy, Jay Kramer, and Pilar Turner.

Related Articles

Comments are closed.