Couple named outstanding philanthropists by local organization

Staff ReportINDIAN RIVER COUNTY — Vaughn and Nancy Bryson have been named outstanding individual philanthropists for their work with Childcare Resources of Indian River, the Association of Fundraising Professionals Indian River Chapter announced Monday.

The couple will be honored at the National Philanthropy Day Awards to be held Nov. 18 at the Vero Beach Museum of Art. Other winners include Syngenta Crop Protection, Inc., outstanding corporate philanthropist; Roger and Nancy Lynch, outstanding individual fundraisers; and Cornelia Perez, unsung hero. The Brysons were nominated by Childcare Resources in part for their funding of a new position, Community Relations Director, for the organization. They also helped fund the opening of a childcare center for the Redlands Christian Migrant Association; are one of the founders of the Indian River Community Foundation and support both the Vero Beach Museum of Art and Indian River Medical Center, among other organizations.

Syngenta was nominated by the Education Foundation of Indian River County and has provided gifts and volunteers to serve as mentors and coaches focusing on science fair competitions. The global agribusiness company was one of the first corporate sponsors of the Environmental Learning Center, helped the Indian River Soccer Association purchase a new soccer field and contributed $20,000 for a green classroom at Storm Grove Middle School.

Roger and Nancy Lynch were nominated by the Boys and Girls Clubs of Indian River County, where Roger has focused most of his efforts. Nancy was one of the founding members of “Impact 100,” which in its first year provided two $100,000 gifts to local charities.

Perez was nominated by the Humane Society of Vero Beach for her 26 years of service to animals in Indian River County. She co-chaired the group’s building campaign in 1997 and has been instrumental in finding funds for efforts focusing on animal adoption, animal dental health, and help for citizens who struggle to feed their pets.

Additional honorees include: Suzanne Bertman, nominated by Hibiscus Children’s Center; Harry Bolwell, nominated by the University of Florida; James Davis, nominated by Women’s Refuge of Vero Beach; Disney’s Vero Beach Resort, nominated by Indian River State College; Barbara Becker Hurley, nominated by the Mental Health Association and Vero Heritage; Joanna Meyers, nominated by Big Brothers/Big Sisters; Colonel and Mrs. John Mitchell, nominated by the Visiting Nurses Association; PNC Wealth Management, nominated by Atlantic Classical Orchestra; Dr. Robert Rappel, nominated by Treasure Coast Community Health; Marta Schneider, nominated by Children’s Home Society; Michael Schwartz, nominated by IRC Habitat for Humanity; and Champ and Debbie Sheridan, nominated by the Indian River Medical Center Foundation.

For more information or to purchase tickets for the awards ceremony, contact Robyn Orzel, at 231-0707, ext. 106 or via e-mail at

Related Articles

Comments are closed.