Votes in for Primary Election


The polls closed at 7 p.m. Tuesday for the Primary Election in Florida. In Indian River County, residents cast ballots for their chosen candidates for seats on the School Board, County Commission and Florida House District 34.

Primary Election in Indian River County:

County Commission District 2 Candidates: Joe Flescher, Elizabeth Siebert

County Commission District 4 Candidates: Deryl Loar, Tom Lowther, Joann Binford

School Board District 2 Candidates: Jacqueline Rosario, LaDonna Corbin, Cynthia Gibbs, Josh Post

School Board District 4 Candidates: Teri Barenborg, Thomas Kenny

Florida House District 34 Candidates: Robbie Brackett, Karen Hiltz

Residents can look at the unofficial results on the Indian River County Supervisor of Elections website.

There are 118,167 active, eligible voters in Indian River County, according to the Supervisor of Elections website. The unofficial voter turnout as of Tuesday evening was more than 38,400 residents, while the percent turnout was 32 percent.

Nearly 20,000 residents voted by mail, more than 5,000 cast their ballots during early voting, more than 12,000 voted on Primary Election Day and 10 people casted provisional ballots.

Here are the unofficial Primary Election results:


Board of Indian River County Commissioners District 2

Joe Flescher            Total Votes:  23,302                   Percentage: 65.70%

Elizabeth Siebert      Total Votes: 12,164                 Percentage: 34.30%

Board of Indian River County Commissioners District 4

Deryl Loar                Total Votes:  14,169                    Percentage: 39.73%

Thomas S. Lowther   Total Votes:  12,180                  Percentage: 34.15%

Joann Binford             Total Votes: 9,318                  Percentage: 26.12%

State Representative Florida House District 34

Robert Brackett              Total Votes:  13,089            Percentage: 60.31%

Karen Hiltz                       Total Votes: 8,614             Percentage: 39.69%

School Board of Indian River County District 2

LaDonna Corbin             Total Votes: 6,376               Percentage: 17.46%

Cynthia Gibbs                  Total Votes: 9,633               Percentage: 26.38%

Josh Post                           Total Votes:  3,413              Percentage: 9.35%

Jacqueline Rosario         Total Votes: 17,099               Percentage: 46.82%

School Board of Indian River County District 4

Teri Barenborg               Total Votes: 20,567                   Percentage: 57.46%

Thomas A. Kenny           Total Votes: 15,224                  Percentage: 42.54%


Dates and Deadlines

2022 Primary Election

Voting Registration Deadline: July 25

Early Voting: August 13 – 20 (7 A.M. – 4 P.M.)

Mail Ballot Request Deadline: August 13 by 5 p.m.

Election Day: August 23 – 7 a.m. – 7 p.m.



2022 General Election

Voting Registration Deadline: October 11

Early Voting: October 24 – November 5

Mail Ballot Request Deadline: October 29 by 5 p.m.

Election Day: November 8 – 7 a.m. – 7 p.m.

*All dates are subject to change

Related Articles

Leave a Comment