Cultural Council seeks Laurel Awards nominations for 2015

INDIAN RIVER COUNTY — The Cultural Council of Indian River County is now accepting nominations for its 2015 Laurel Awards. Each year these awards are presented to individuals or businesses who contribute to the quality of the cultural community in Vero Beach.

This year, the Laurel Awards Presentation will be held on April 24th at the Riomar Country Club.

Awards categories include:

The John Schumann Award is awarded to an individual or business who demonstrates outstanding commitment to a nonprofit cultural organization(s) in support of their operations, enabling growth and sustainability.

The Alma Lee Loy Award is awarded to an outstanding individual who, as a volunteer demonstrates selfless dedication to the cultural arts, and devoted energy, passion, time and support of a nonprofit cultural organization(s).

The Richard A. Stark Award is awarded to an individual who demonstrates exceptional leadership in promoting the cultural arts, and in providing encouragement, involvement, and motivation to others in support of the cultural arts.

New this year is the Willie C. Reagan Award for educational arts leadership. Named in honor of highwayman artist and art educator, Bill Reagan, this award will be presented to an arts educator to honor, recognize, celebrate and advocate arts education for all whose talent and leadership keeps the arts alive for all ages.

Nomination forms are available online at or by calling (772) 770-4857. Nominators and nominees must be members of the Cultural Council of Indian River County. The deadline for sending nominations to the Cultural Council is Jan. 16, 2015. The Laurel Award winners will be announced on Feb. 16, 2015.

Leave a Comment