Elementary students honored at regional science, engineering fair

INDIAN RIVER COUNTY – Students from 20 public, private, parochial and home schools participated in the recent Indian River Regional Science & Engineering Fair Elementary Award Ceremony at Sebastian River High School.

Over 1,200 people attended the event hosted by the Education Foundation of Indian River County in conjunction with the School District of Indian River County. In all, $5,000 in cash awards, certificates and participation medals were awarded to the 326 students from kindergarten through fifth grade.

 Special award winners included:

 Pat Palmer Participation Awards (sponsored by George E. Warren): Beachland Elementary, Dodgertown Elementary, Glendale Elementary.

 Pat Palmer Participation Awards  (sponsored by Quail Valley Charities): Highlands Elementary, Liberty Magnet , Osceola Magnet .

 Pat Palmer Participation Awards  (sponsored by RBC Bank): Pelican Island Elementary, Rosewood Magnet , Sebastian Elementary.

 Pat Palmer Participation Awards (sponsored by Syngenta Crop Protection):  Saint Helen Catholic School, Vero Beach Elementary.

 The Boys and Girls Clubs of Indian River County – Teaching Excellence Award: Mrs. Jellie – Beachland Elementary.

 The Mary Ann Bishop Family Awards: Abigail Flynt – Indian River Homeschool Association, Rachel Gambee – Saint Edward’s School, Garrett Norman – Osceola Magnet, MacKenzie Slade – Glendale Elementary.

 The Carol Dressler Memorial Award: Ricardo Martinez and Rafael Zamarripa – Fellsmere Elementary.

 The Environmental Learning Center Awards: Mrs. Boggan’s Class – Osceola Magnet, Katelyn Wahl – Saint Helen Catholic School, Ian Lazan – Beachland Elementary, Matthew McGarry – Saint Helen Catholic School.

 The Jeanne Zingale Award: Cayla Faulkner – Highlands Elementary.

 The Ray Harmon Award: Finn Howell – Pelican Island Elementary.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment